Thanks for Attending Teleseminar #2-Getting Started in the Art Fair Business

by

Yesterday evening we held our second in a series of free teleseminars about the business of doing art fairs, How to Get Started in the Art Fair Business.

Our many thanks to all of you who sent excellent questions and attended the event. All of our phone lines were full and I thoroughly enjoyed telling my art fair stories and sharing our years of experience at the nation’s art fairs with all of you.

Some of the questions that we answered were:

  • I just feel so overwhelmed I don’t know where to start, I can’t get enough money together to get materials I need nor to register for any art shows, don’t know where to start. Lost and confused. Help me please!
  • How can I judge the quality of a show when the 2 sources I know about (Sunshine Artist and Art Fair Source Book) do not agree or don’t even mention the show?
  • How can I tell when looking at applications the difference between the GREAT shows (the ones with buyers) and the OKAY shows (the ones with lookers)?
  • My question is how do you get accepted to the juried art shows? What are they looking for?
  • How can I improve my application to get fewer rejections?
  • Do purchasing preferences vary by region? What are they?
  • and many more

We are transcribing it now for download as an e-book. Stay tuned for publication!

Here are a few of the comments we received afterwards:

  1. Hi Connie, I missed the first teleseminar, but listened to the second one that was yesterday. Thanks to your website I am very busy this summer beginning tomorrow (Warren Co. Festival of the Arts) till August 23rd (Mason Heritage Festival). I had some concerns about booth display and yesterday’s teleseminar gave me confidence. –Konul Zwolinski
  2. Connie and Scott, I found your seminar helpful and informative. I look forward to future opportunities. i have just gotten started in this business, so I welcome all sources of experience and support. Please keep me on your e-mail list. I can anticipate using more of your services, in the future. –Enlightened Images
  3. Wanted to thank you for providing me the opportunity to join the call. Great information, and you organized the presentation of the topics very well, each flowed into the other.
    Can’t wait for the next seminar.
    You mentioned the possibility of focused calls – booth design would be most helpful. Would save a lot of trial and error. Thank you. –JR Lamartine
Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Thanks for Attending Teleseminar #2-Getting Started in the Art Fair Business”

  1. Tutti Victoria Jewelry Says:

    Hello,

    i have attended a few shows, they are always over priced for the vendors. It is almost an ipossobiility to make up your money. The only person who makes money is the promoter, hense my question. how is this started?

    Victoria

  2. Constance Mettler Says:

    Hi Victoria,

    I addressed this issue in the teleseminar: how to choose the right event for your income level, how to find materials for making art and keeping the overhead as low as possible so you can make a profit. The teleseminar will be available soon for download. Stay tuned.
    Constance

Leave a Reply

