ArtFairCalendar.com Teleseminar and More News

by

1. Last Thursday I hosted my first teleseminar. I had asked artists to sign up ahead of time and send me their questions. I was overwhelmed with the number of you who wrote me and called in for the discussion. Thank you so much.

Here are some of the comments we received afterwards:

Thanks – it was a very helpful seminar. I had no problems hearing.

I’d prefer seminars with a general selection of questions. I’m at a place where I feel I still need to know something about everything, rather than dig too deep into one subject.
Paul Messink
Turtle Bay Glass


Hi~ I was unable to call in because I had to work…was it recorded for rebroadcast? I really would love to hear the information presented!!
Thank you!
Caroline


I didn’t realize the timing for the seminar was Eastern time, so when I logged on at 3PM Central time, I missed it. Is there any way for us to get that info — I believe you were recording it?
Thank you so much,
Peggy Sutton

(Several people got confused about the time. Next time we will fix that.)

I make jewelry and I wanted to thank you for the teleseminar.

The best resource information that you gave me was for the PMA craft show. I went to their website and looked at the slide images and that helped me to see where the bar is set for jewelry slides in an art show submittals.

I have been in business for 2 years and have found that getting into the shows is very competitive. From what I understand, jewelry and photography are the 2 most competitive fields for these shows.

I think more helpful information for some of the new comers would be a list of the up and coming new art shows that don’t yet have artists fighting to get in which you alluded to in the teleseminar. Do you think you could provide a more comprehensive list of the newest shows with the most potential? That would be really helpful to new people like me trying to break into this competitive market.

I have already seen that after you are in a show in a lot of cases you can get in the show again the following year after they site jury your booth and see the quality of your work. I think the hardest part for me is actually getting into the shows. I had already found the Sunshine Artist magazine and website and used that as a basis for what shows to submit to in my area. The problem there is that everyone else with a lot of experience is using the same resource.

I did manage to get into the St. James Court Show in Louisville last year. That was the largest show I was accepted into and I also had the best sales there. Now I was already accepted back again this year based on their on site jury system. That system is great once you are in but being on the outside looking in at some of the other shows is frustrating.

Another question I thought of while listening to the teleseminar is: How much in sales should you expect to make over the booth fee? I had heard somewhere that 10 times the booth fee should be a sales target and if you make more than that, great, if not, then reconsider if the show is worth it the following year. Is that a good rule of thumb?

I would love to hear more category specific teleseminars. For me, one on jewelry would be great! Angie Dresnie

Hey Connie,

Great job! I enjoyed the teleseminar very much. As I recall from talking to you at SMC, Scott is your son. How great to have a partnership like that! Both of you did well, gave good information, and were interesting to listen to throughout the program. If you’re considering doing other programs, I’d love to hear one dedicated to photography.

Thanks for including me!

Carole

There were many inquiries from people who were unable to join in the call about a recording of it. Yes, we did record the call and we are in the process of transcribing it now. It will be available for sale on ArtFairCalendar.com soon.


2. Readers, you probably know that this newsletter and website are pretty much a labor of love for me, so it was pretty exciting when I recently received some new signups for the newsletter from Toronto. It seems as though Scott Fox, author of Internet Riches, was on a talk show and was talking about Internet businesses and he used ArtFairCalendar.com as a good example of a niche business that could be only exist because of the Internet. Welcome, Canadians! And, yes, Scott is my son.

3. In this month’s issue of Corp! (a magazine devoted to business in Michigan) I was interviewed and quoted in an article about how people were building new businesses in our state. Thank you, Francis Lieder, for the good article and the publicity.

4. In Wednesday I attended an Arts Advocacy Day in Lansing, MI. It was a gathering of people working in the arts there to lobby the legislature for more money for the arts and also to enable us to network with one another. Shary Brown from the Ann Arbor Street Fair and I were the only ones there from the art fair biz.

I was very pleased to hear from Eric Cedo (a presenter on doing business Web 2.0 style) that his company, BrainGainMarketing.com, had used ArtFairCalendar.com to write a story about art fairs in Michigan. Gee, I hope lots of writers are using it and bringing you the patrons you deserve to the art fairs.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

